KTD Medallion found under bench

Main Article Image: 
Main article image

WORTHINGTON – Congratulations to Daniel Versluis and his father Scott, this year’s master sleuths. They unraveled the clues to the King Turkey Day medallion hunt before any of the other searchers.

The medallion was hidden under a bench by the public parking lot where 10th Street comes to a T, which is mentioned in a clue. According to the Versluis men, paying attention to every little bit of the clues is what helped them find the medallion.

Minnesota Supreme Court coming to Worthington

WORTHINGTON – The Minnesota Supreme Court is coming to Worthington as part of a program that teaches teenagers about the court system by hearing oral arguments on a real court case in front of approximately 1,000 high school students.

The Court will also hold an informal community dinner the evening before that is open to the public.

Worthington man stabbed in South Dakota

GARRETSON, SD – A Worthington man was stabbed in the back Sunday in South Dakota by a Lake Andes woman who is in custody after fleeing with the victim’s car.

According to Capt. Paul Niedringhaus of the Minnehaha County Sheriff’s Office, Lolita Faith Dion, 18, of Lake Andes stabbed the 36-year-old victim with a knife, then fled a home just outside of Garretson around 7 p.m. The victim also fled, going to a neighboring home and calling authorities. He suffered non-life threatening injuries.

Dion was found driving the victims car approximately two hours later in Renner.

Woman dies in Fairmont fire

FAIRMONT - One person was killed early Sunday morning in a Fairmont house fire.
According to the Fairmont Police Department, officials responded to a call of a residential house fire at 3:47 a.m. in the 300 block of N. Elm Street.

Upon arrival firefighters found one person dead inside the house. They believe it was a 61-year-old-female and the only occupant.

Authorities said all nearby neighbors were evacuated. The remains of the victim were transported to the Ramsey County Medical Examiner’s Office.

Strong schools = Strong communities

Main Article Image: 
Main article image

WORTHINGTON – Eight years ago, residents of the Worthington school district voted to approve an operating levy referendum to aid District 518. The final year of the levy is 2014, so a new referendum will be on the ballot in November. A group of concerned citizens have formed SOS, which stands for Support Our Schools. Their motto – Strong schools equal strong communities.

Friday morning, they group gathered in front of the Worthington High School to publicly announce their support of the referendum and ask citizens to come out in support as well by voting yes.

Sioux Falls death row inmate takes own life

SIOUX FALLS, SD – The South Dakota Department of Corrections says James McVay, a death row inmate, has taken his own life. McVay, 44, reportedly killed himself in his cell in the Jameson Annex overnight. Penitentiary staff tried CPR but he was pronounced dead at the prison.

McVay was convicted of first-degree murder in Minnehaha County and sentenced to death earlier this year. He had pleaded guilty but mentally ill to the July 2011 murder of Maybelle Schein of Sioux Falls.

Enrollment Open for the Margin Protection Program

(St. Paul, Minn.), Sept. 2, 2014 — USDA Minnesota Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director, Debra Crusoe, today announced that starting Sept. 2, 2014, farmers can enroll in the new dairy Margin Protection Program. The voluntary program, established by the 2014 Farm Bill, provides financial assistance to participating farmers when the margin – the difference between the price of milk and feed costs – falls below the coverage level selected by the farmer.

City council takes a look at bike lane demo

Main Article Image: 
Main article image

WORTHINGTON – Anyone driving down South Shore Drive in Worthington Friday morning may have encountered a bit of a problem in front of Freedom Shore Park around 9 a.m. – part of the street was closed for over an hour while a demonstration took place so city leaders and others could get a look at what it might look like if bike lanes were added.

With the assistance of the parks and recreation department, who added temporary lines using chalk, local Statewide Health Improvement Program committee members were able to give a visual of South Shore with bike lanes on both sides of the street.

John Deere announces layoffs at Waterloo, Iowa plant

WATERLOO, Iowa – Deere & Company announced Friday that it will place approximately 460 employees who work in the company's Waterloo, Iowa operations on indefinite layoff in response to current market demand for its products. Deere said employees were informed Friday of the layoffs, which are effective October 20th.