Changes coming to Worthington Football Schedule for 2014 and beyond

With the beginning of the new Big South Conference just on the horizon, there will be a new look to the Worthington Trojan Football team's schedule beginning next season.

The Big South Conference features teams from the Southwest Conference and the South Central Conference. Worthington's 2014 schedule will all be Big South Conference games, facing 4 teams from the former Southwest Conference and 4 from the former South Central Conference.

2 area athletes sign on to wrestle for SMSU

Two area athletes signed national letters of intent to continue their wrestling careers with the Southwest Minnesota State University Mustangs in Marshall.

Tiffany Gehl named a NJCAA All-American

Minnesota West Sophomore Tiffany Gehl continues to add awards to her list of accomplishments as the Fulda native has been named a National Junior College Athletic Association Division III All-American

Bents named NSIC Field Athlete of the Week

University of Sioux Falls thrower Jordon Bents was named the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Field Athlete of the Week by the conference office announced on Monday morning.

Minnesota Coaches Association Academic Awards

The Minnesota Boys and Girls Basketball Coaches Association have released academic awards for the 2013-2014 season.

The Minnesota Boys Basketball Coaches Association has released their 2013-2014 Academic All-State Teams. In Class AAA & Class AAAA, Worthington’s Will Dudley was chosen as an Academic All-State Honorable Mention selection this season. In Class A & AA, Southwest Christian’s Leighton Sampson and Mountain Lake Area’s Carter Kirk were both Academic All-State Selections.

Southwest All-Conference Girls Basketball Team

The Southwest Conference has released their 2013-2014 All-Conference Girls Basketball team.

Ana Boever, Worthington
Brooke Henning, Worthington
Paige Gravenhof, Worthington
Abbie Landgaard, Worthington
Kaylee Burmeister, Jackson County Central
Rachel Sorenson, Windom
Kenzie Beekman, Marshall
Hannah Bennett, Marshall
Sarah Buysse, Marshall
Callie Graff, Marshall

Honorable Mention:
Rachel Johnson, Jackson County Central
Kelsey Hanefeld, Windom
Libby Schneider, Pipestone
Lauren Hanson, Redwood Valley
Morgan Saugstad, Marshall

Minnesota Girls Basketball Coaches Association All-State Teams

The Minnesota Girls Basketball Coaches Association has released their 2013-2014 All-State Girls Basketball Teams.

Class AAA All State
Kenzie Beekman, Marshall
Grace Coughlin, Benilde-St. Margaret's
Bryanna Fernstrom, Chisago Lakes
Brianna Rasmusson, Fergus Falls
Bailey Strand, Fergus Falls
Michaela Rasmussen, Holy Family Catholic
Claire Ziegler, Mankato East
Chase Coley, Minneapolis Washburn
Grace Sawatzke, Monticello
Cayla McMorris, Park Center
Brooke Yaggie, Thief River Falls (Lincoln HS)
Anna Schmitt, Waconia

Class AAA Honorable Mention
Ana Boever, Worthington

MCAC Fall Academic Award Winners

The Minnesota College Athletic Conference has released their 2013-2014 Fall Sports Academic Award Winners. Athletes can receive MCAC academic recognition if they have a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.0 or better at the end of the semester in which the majority of the sport season occurs and they have enrolled in and completed a minimum of 12 credits during that semester.

Minnesota West had a number of student-athletes receive Fall Academic Award honors this season. They include:
Travis Beeck, Football
Sean Benton, Football
Edgar Blackbull, Football
Daniel Devivo, Football

Jalen Voss named a NAIA All-American

The accolades continue to pile up for Dakota Wesleyan University junior Jalen Voss, as the former Worthington Trojan has been named a NAIA Division II All-American.

Tiffany Gehl named a WBCA All-American

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced on Wednesday night their 2013-2014 10-member Junior/Community College Coaches’ All-America Team and one the selection was Minnesota West's Tiffany Gehl