Worthington Trojan Wrestling Team impressive despite two losses at MN State Wrestling Tournament

Main Article Image: 
Main article image

Despite dropping both of their matches at the Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament, Worthington Trojan Head Wrestling Coach Mark Prunty was extremely proud of the way his team battled on Thursday.

Worthington opened up the State Tournament with a 39-21 loss to #1 ranked SImley, but Prunty was pleased with the way his team wrestled.

Big South All-Conference Gymnastics Team

The Big South Conference has released their 2014-2015 All-Conference Gymnastics Squad

All-Conference Balance Beam:
Liz Hayenga, SO, Worthington
Bryanna Peterson, SO, Martin County Area
Maddy Swain, SR, Waseca
Marina Chen, SR, Waseca
Haley Bass, JR, Jackson County Central

All-Conference Uneven Parallel Bars:
Taylor Eggers, 8th Grade, Worthington
Bryanna Peterson, SO, Martin County Area
Haley Bass, JR, Jackson County Central
Bekah Berry, SO, St. Peter
Abby Schneekloth, FR, Jackson County Central
Madi Schandelmeier, SO, Luverne

All-Conference Vault:

Big South All-Conference Girls Hockey Team

The Big South Conference has released their 2014-2015 All-Conference Girls Hockey Team

Betsy Thompson, SR, Worthington
Allison Kremer, SR, Worthington
Molly Boyum, FR, Windom Area
Makayla Sterrett, JR, Luverne
Mariah Aukes, SO, Luverne
Teegan Wyffels, SR, Marshall
Tieryn Arens, JR, Fairmont
Brittany Denn, JR, New Ulm
Erika Ries, SR, New Ulm
Brook Shugel, JR, New Ulm
Danni Dahms, FR, Waseca
Maddy Knool, JR, Waseca
Maddie Kleschult, JR, St. Peter/LeSueur-Henderson/Tri-City United

Honorable Mention:
Emily Steen, FR, Windom Area
Madisyn Dingmann, JR, Luverne

First Round matches set for area wrestlers at Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament

The first round matches have been announced for area wrestlers at the Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament which will take place Thursday thru Saturday at the Xcel Energy Center in the Twin Cities.

In Class 2A:
At 106 pounds, Worthington junior Hser Eh Pwae (32-7) (#2 in final Guillotine rankings) will face junior Cameron Wellman (24-9) of Virginia Area in the opening round.

At 113 pounds, Worthington junior Hser Moo Pwae (28-11) will face freshman Lorenzo Diaz (27-12) of South St. Paul in the opening round

Final Results from Minnesota State Gymnastics Meet

The Worthington Trojans had a busy weekend at the Minnesota Class A State Gymnastics Meet at the University of Minnesota Sports Pavilion

The Trojans were in action during the Team portion of the competition on Friday.

Worthington finished in 7th place with 137.200 points.

Worthington scored 36.525 points on the vault. Maria Contreras led the Trojans with a score of 9.35, Taylor Eggers scored a 9.175, Liz Hayenga and McKenna Prunty both scored a 9.0 and Whitney Jensen had an 8.9.

Final Results from Section 3A Wrestling Tourament

The Section 3A Individual Wrestling Tournament was held in Windom on Friday and Saturday and the Adrian Dragons are sending 5 wrestlers to the Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament

At 106 pounds, Adrian's Beau Bullerman lost in the Section Quarterfinals to Zach Spinks of Windom/Mountain Lake Area by fall in 4:54, dropping him into the wrestlebacks. Bullerman than lost a 14-7 decision in the wrestlebacks and eliminating him from the tournament

Final Results from Iowa State Individual Wrestling Tournament

Class 1A:
132 pounds: Dylan Schuck of Sibley-Ocheyedan won his opening round matchup over Tucker Bluml of Riverside by a 15-4 major decision. Schuck lost his State Quarterfinals to Trent Johnson of Dike-New Hartford by a 5-2 decision, dropping him into the wrestlebacks. Schuck picked up a win by fall in 5:46 over Trever Greene of North Cedar, Stanwood before falling to Logan Mays of Wilton by fall in 2:37, dropping him into the 7th place match where he lost a 9-7 decision to Lane Nichols of Woodbury Central and finished in 8th place

Girls Basketball Seedings for Section 3A, Section 3AA and Section 2A

The seedings have been released for area girls basketball teams in Section 3A, 3AA and 2A

In the South Sub-Section in Section 3A
1. Southwest Christian
2. Wabasso
3. Edgerton
4. Red Rock Central
5. Fulda
6. Hills-Beaver Creek
7. Adrian
8. Murray County Central
9. Westbrook-Walnut Grove
#10 Ellsworth

5 Bluejay Wrestlers join MCAC Hall of Fame

The Minnesota College Athletic Conference's Hall of Fame Class of 2014 includes 5 former Minnesota West Bluejay Wrestlers.

Joining the MCAC Hall of Fame in 2014 were former Bluejay wrestlers Nate Hanson (1998-2000), Chad Uhrig (1999-2001), Karl Knothe (2000-2002), Bryan Cowdin (2001-2002) and Nate Buys (2002-2004). They were officially recognized as 2014 inductees at the MCAC General Assembly meetings in March of last year.